White House Claims Freedom Of Information Does Not Apply To “Unfounded Rumors”.

The more I look at Reporters Without Borders the more I like them as the group to receive the proceeds, if and when, from this project.  I sent them an e-mail and got back a prompt and personal reply, from the contact for the US office.

I’ve gotten some more interest e-mails from writers, and I would like to publicly say, because I was asked privately, that I am looking specifically for stories set in this particular world, in the aftermath of the killer comet that wasn’t.

It is interesting how people are thinking about other end-of-the-world scenarios  that fizzled.  It’s a concept that fascinates me, because I grew up on The Population Bomb and Silent Spring and the shadow of Mutually Assured Destruction.

I want to use this one event, Comet Grijalva, as a metaphor for the fear of doom that so many of us were raised under.  In fact, I’d like to share a song that I remember from my youth, that I only really understand today:

John Hartford, “I Didn’t Know The World Would Last This Long”.

Leave a Reply

