You gotta have a dream

Last night MzSusanB and I went to South Pacific at the Muni Opera House.  For those of you who aren’t local, this is an open air venue in the middle of Forest Park, and last night was a beautiful night for musical theater under the stars, not too hot, not too humid.

Now, I’m a tough and ruthless (or is it rough and toothless?) big bad ex-repo man, ex-bouncer, and writer of books full of scary violence.  But my Achilles heel is musicals.  Start up a Rogers overture and I turn into a twinkie.  So I was singing along with tears in my eyes.  I’m man enough to admit it.

One of the songs that hit me particularly hard was Bloody Mary’s “Happy Talk”.   In case you don’t know the story, that song is sung by a native Tonkinese woman to an American Lieutenant, encouraging him to ignore what other people thought and to marry her daughter, Liat.

The lyrics, in part, are:

You gotta have a dream, if you don’t have a dream,
How you gonna have a dream come true?

I keep getting choked up over that couplet, because I do have a dream.  I’ve been working on putting that dream into words, to concretize it.

Put simply, I want to create a line of books to bring readers and writers together, to stand on their own but to also serve as a platform for writers to get their work to the reading public.  I love encouraging creative artists, I love reading new works and seeing familiar concepts through new eyes.  I want to give writers a chance to stretch themselves, to try new things.

I want to build a brand, not just one book, but an entire line of them, so that readers will know that what I package will be fresh, original, and exciting.

This project has reminded me of how much fun fiction can be.  I tossed a screwball pitch over the plate and all kinds of writers have stepped up to take a swing at it, some brand new, some very experienced, and the ball is bouncing in ways that I never could have imagined.

I want more of this.  I want to make The Fauxpocalypse Project into something that will make people sit up and take notice, and I want to keep going.

It’s scary.  I’m looking into ways to make this work, and I am in uncharted territory. I left my comfort zone miles ago. I drove right past the “Here Abide Monsters” sign and kept going.

I have a dream, and dreams are fragile and surprisingly heavy.  I don’t know how far I can carry it.

Happy talk, keep talking’ happy talk
Talk about things you’d like to do
You gotta have a dream, if you don’t have a dream
How you gonna have a dream come true?

2 thoughts on “You gotta have a dream

Leave a Reply

