Coming together

Placeholder Cover

Placeholder Cover

Okay, this is a mockup cover that I did, mostly to see how much room the contributor’s names would take up.

Quite a list, huh? We’re over 51,000 words now, and I know that some of these stories are going to be expanded by the authors. So if you haven’t submitted and you intend to, it’s important that you contact me ASAP.

I really want to give everyone who wants to be part of this project the opportunity. But, on the other hand, I’m not going to hold it up forever. Right now, I think we are very close to wrapping things up. I am not officially closing submissions yet, but I will soon, probably by the first part of August.

This has been a lot of fun and a huge learning experience and a labor of love. Today I converted the stories that I have to a Kindle format and was reading it at work. It’s a powerful collection of stories, and I think it’ll do well.

There’s a lot of work still to do, but reading it on my Kindle made me feel like, damn, I’ve got a whole book here.  It was a crazy idea, but, you know, I think we’re going to pull this off.

10 thoughts on “Coming together

    1. MishaBurnett Post author

      I do want all the contributors on the cover because I think it works better as a promotional tool that, although I could be wrong. You’re probably right about dropping “project” it doesn’t add anything to the title.

      Reply
      1. schevusosborne

        Fair enough. That’s what I figured the motivation was. Seems like that would make the most difference in a physical print. Are you looking at that (mostly just curious)?

      2. MishaBurnett Post author

        I do want a print edition, and I hope that having all contributors on the cover will help authors get the book into the “local author” section of bookstores. I also want the ebook and print editions to have the same cover. On the other hand, I am open to other ideas.

      3. Dave Higgins

        A quick internet search of both “The Fauxpocalypse Project” and “Fauxpocalypse” showed the website third instead of second without “Project” so it does not seem to make us less obvious. We do even better on “Fauxpocalypse book”.

        I am not an internet marketer, so this might not be a valid confirmation, but I cannot see an advertising issue with dropping “Project”.

  1. Miss Alexandrina

    Looks good!

    I actually started writing a piece about an English girl who turns to religion at the ‘end’, but then has doubts after Earth survives. I haven’t got very far, so I can’t give a finish date yet. And I have a couple of questions: What sort of wordcount do you want the short story to be? And how far after the non-end do we write the plot? I haven’t decided how I want to wrap it up yet.

    Reply
    1. MishaBurnett Post author

      Right now most of the stories are in the 3,000 to 5,000 word range, although one is over 10,000. Most of the stories are shortly after the non-impact, one of them nearly a year afterwards, but I am open to ones set significantly later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

