Peer Editing

Although I do not have what you humans call a “plan”, there was a sort of vision that inspired me to begin this project.

What I saw–and still see, experience having both sharpened and corrected my view–is a collaborative venture.

Rather than a top down hierarchical structure of Publisher -> Editor -> Writer, my vision is of Writer/Editors working together to create.  So far, it seems to be working.

I do consider myself in a leadership role in this project, I have taken the role of General Editor, and will be functioning as Publisher.  I consider my role to be primarily administrative, however.

We are entering a new phase in the project now, and we’re in uncharted territory, at least so far as I know.  What I am attempting to do is to create an environment of Peer Editing, rather like the peer workshopping that takes place in many writer’s groups and classes.  That’s always been my favorite part of writer’s groups, and I have some experience working as moderator for such groups.

I will admit, though, I see some risk ahead.  Peer to peer critiques can be tricky, and in a shared world it is going to vital that everyone agree on many aspects of the cosmology.  Until now we have all told our stories in a vacuum, now we are putting them together and seeing how they mesh.

That’s something that I can’t do all by myself.  I have my own vision, my own ideas, but I am committed to this project conforming to a shared vision–not just my world, but our world.

This is really what will make or break my vision.  If the peer editing works and yields a project that all the contributors are proud to put their names on, I’ll consider the project a success and feel confident that I can do it again.

I think it will work.  The contributors that have chosen to submit to Fauxpocalypse are serious, professional writers (although some have not written for money before, they all have what I consider a professional attitude) and already people are stepping up as peer-editors.

I’m excited and I’m nervous and I’m hopeful.  I see this as a way to take self-publishing in a new direction–collaborative self-publishing.  I think it’s something that can only work as a circle of equals, a round table.

If this goes how I envision it, I will have created for myself a new role in the publishing world–Editor/Moderator, General Facilitator, something like that.  It’s a concept more like Lead Writer on a television show than Editors or Publishers in the print world.

Which will allow me to fulfill my lifelong dream of earning membership in the Club Of Queer Trades.  Which may have been my plan all along.

 

Leave a Reply

