Thoughts on Vodka and Watermelons

Paws4Thought

Back in 1990 I was living Jerusalem in a one room apartment in Nachlaot. The world was tense. Iraq had invaded Kuwait and had been a given a deadline by America and its allies – January 16th. January 16th was also my mother’s birthday.

My parents still lived in London at the time. They had offered me a ticket to come home. But home was now Jerusalem. How could I leave my friends who had no place to go?

In the weeks before the invasion all Israelis were issued gas masks and instructed to create sealed “safety” rooms. It was known that Iraq had used chemicals in their conflict with Iran. It wasn’t sure whether they had the technological capabilities of mounting chemicals onto scuds to send to Israel, but why take the chance?

I went to the distribution center and got my gas mask. I even…

View original post 203 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About paws4puzzles

I'm a writer and puzzle maker. I am the author of a YA fantasy series, P.A.W.S. and my puzzles have been published in many magazines from Dell and Penny Press and on the walls of the Eltana cafe in Seattle. My most recent release is a book of logic problems, Paws4Logic which I wrote together with my son, Joey.

Leave a Reply

