Reporters Without Borders

I have been considering the idea of donating the proceeds of this project to charity since its inception, and I do think it’s the best idea for a number of reasons.

First, it’s easier for me.  Instead of taking a payment of $20 and writing out 11 checks for a dollar and change, I just write one check to the charity and am done with it.  (In fact, I may just be able to get them listed as the publisher and have Amazon send them a check directly.  Easier yet!)

Second, it’s another channel for publicity.  The goal of the project is to get our work in the hands of as many readers as possible, and being able to tell people that the proceeds are going to a worthy cause will help spread the word.

Third, it’s a good thing to do.  Not all of us can donate money in large amounts to the people who will do something positive with it, but we can donate our time and talent.  (Hey, I may be an Objectivist, but I am not entirely lacking in compassion.)

So, I would like to suggest Reporters Without Borders as the organization to support.  Please, take a moment to check out their website and let me know what you think.  This is a group that fights against censorship in all of its forms, and I think that we as writers and internet citizens should be very concerned about that.

3 thoughts on “Reporters Without Borders

Leave a comment